Compromising on wheat should not mean compromising on flavour.
It can be time consuming and expensive to find the right gluten free products to suit your diet. Some products are available on an annual pre paid prescription, and this is a good idea if there are more than one coeliacs in your household.
Did you know that some companies offer free samples, delivered to your door which allows you to try before you buy.
I have just had one such package delivered straight from Juvela.
Enclosed are the following items:-
- 2 x Pizza bases
- 1 x box of crackers
- 1 x box of fibre flak cereal
- 1 x box of fusilli pasta
- 1 x packet of white mix (ideal for cakes/ pastry/ bread)
- 6 x white rolls
- 1 x loaf of bread
- 1 x recipe book
Most definitely worth filling in your details on the website. This way you can try a good cross section of their products without costing you a penny.
I have tried the white bread. And honestly, yes the slices are small BUT toasted with jam and butter… there is nothing to stop you from eating the entire loaf! Perfect!
First of all Oats do NOT contain Gluten.
This means that most Coeliacs can eat Oats without any problems at all. However, some coeliacs may also be sensitive to Oats, as they contain a similar protein called Avenins. So this is something to be aware of.
Also, you need to bear in mind that many oats, and oat products are contaminated with gluten from wheat, barley and rye so it is super important to check the label to make sure the food is suitable for you – See below!
It is recommended that as soon as you find out you are Coeliac, you stop eating oats altogether for 6 months, and then reintroduce to our diet after you have consulted your GP or dietician.
But on the whole… for most people… it does mean that the humble Flap Jack is back on the menu!!!! Woo hoo!!!
It is a bit of a tricky one. Which grains can you eat? Which grains should you avoid like the plague?
I have pulled together a simple list to help you on your way!
Gluten Free :
- Corn (maize)
- Polenta (cornmeal)
- Oats (in most cases coeliacs can still eat oats… just be careful of the manufacturing methods!)
Not Gluten Free:
- Bulgar wheat
- Durum Wheat
- Emmer Wheat
Sooooooo, in a nut shell…. stick to the first list, and avoid the second list! Simple! Or not so simple… it can be pretty tricky remembering what you can and cannot have, finding it on a food label, identifying it on a menu, especially when, lets face it, we haven’t even HEARD of half of these!
But don’t worry… more information is on its way.