Can I Eat Oats?

First of all Oats do NOT contain Gluten.

This means that most Coeliacs can eat Oats without any problems at all. However, some coeliacs may also be sensitive to Oats, as they contain a similar protein called Avenins. So this is something to be aware of.

Also, you need to bear in mind that many oats, and oat products are contaminated with gluten from wheat, barley and rye so it is super important to check the label to make sure the food is suitable for you – See below!

It is recommended that as soon as you find out you are Coeliac, you stop eating oats altogether for 6 months, and then reintroduce to our diet after you have consulted your GP or dietician.

But on the whole… for most people… it does mean that the humble Flap Jack is back on the menu!!!! Woo hoo!!!

oats

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s