The crossed grain symbol is basically the holy grail when shopping for Coeliacs. The presence of this symbol on packaging means that your food is free from gluten…. and is safe!
So look out for it on the packaging of your food! Unfortunately it is not the law for food manufacturers to display this on their packaging, and some supermarkets do have their own variation on this symbol.
You may also come across a number of statements on the packaging such as:
- Suitable for Coeliacs
- Gluten Free
If you cannot see any of this.. make sure you check the ingredients carefully.