Not all grains are “Glutenous”!!!

It is a bit of a tricky one. Which grains can you eat? Which grains should you avoid like the plague?

I have pulled together a simple list to help you on your way!

Gluten Free :

  • Amaranth
  • Buckwheat
  • Chestnut
  • Corn (maize)
  • Millet
  • Polenta (cornmeal)
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sago
  • Sorghum
  • Soya
  • Tapioca
  • Teff
  • Oats (in most cases coeliacs can still eat oats… just be careful of the manufacturing methods!)

Not Gluten Free:

  • Barley
  • Bulgar wheat
  • Couscous
  • Dinkel
  • Durum Wheat
  • Einkorn
  • Emmer Wheat
  • Kamut
  • Rye
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Wheat

Sooooooo, in a nut shell…. stick to the first list, and avoid the second list! Simple! Or not so simple… it can be pretty tricky remembering what you can and cannot have, finding it on a food label, identifying it on a menu, especially when, lets face it, we haven’t even HEARD of half of these!

But don’t worry… more information is on its way.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s